Comings and Goings:
Claims Conference
World ORT

Gideon Taylor has been elected President of the Claims Conference. He previously served as Executive Vice President of the Claims Conference (2000-2009) as well as Executive Vice President of JDC.

In 2013, Mr. Taylor became pro bono Chair of Operations of the World Jewish Restitution Organization (WJRO), representing world Jewry in pursuing claims for the recovery of Jewish properties seized during the Holocaust in Eastern Europe. His work ensured the passage of legislation for heirless Jewish property in Serbia, former Jewish communal property in Romania and Latvia and social welfare payments for Holocaust survivors from Poland.

According to the New York Jewish Week, “Taylor’s time as [Claims Conference] executive vice president … coincided with a low point for the organization, when employees stole an estimated $57 million in funds designated for Holocaust survivors in a scheme involving false claims for restitution. The Claims Conference itself alerted the FBI to the scam after Taylor left the job in 2009, and neither the FBI nor an internal probe found Taylor responsible.” The fraud resulted in the conviction of 31 people.


Dan Green has been appointed Director General and CEO of World ORT.

Following his appointment Dan Green said: “It is a privilege and an honor to serve as Director General and CEO of World ORT – the largest Jewish education network in the world.

“Our mission today is as relevant as it was 140 years ago when we were established in St Petersburg, Russia: providing education to the Jewish people.”

Dan had been World ORT’s Chief Operating Officer since 2016, having previously served as CEO of ORT UK from 2012. Before joining the network he worked in consumer media running sales departments of print and digital media outlets including BBC Magazines and the Jewish Chronicle.

Dan’s predecessor, Avi Ganon, submitted his resignation as Director General and CEO in March, stepping down for personal reasons. He had been in the role since September 2017.