Three Jewish Educators Receive the 2017 Covenant Award

Three outstanding Jewish educators who are taking their visions of deeply engaging Judaism and igniting them into reality – are the 2017 recipients of The Covenant Award.

Rabbi Tully Harcsztark, Founding Principal of SAR High School in Riverdale, NY; Meredith Englander Polsky, National Director of Institutes and Training at Matan in New York, and Developmental Support Coordinator at Temple Beth Ami Nursery School in Rockville, MD; and Dr. Jane Shapiro, Co-Founder of Orot: Center for New Jewish Learning in Skokie, IL are the recipients, which is among the highest honors in the field of Jewish education.

Along with the recognition that accompanies this award, each recipient will receive $36,000, and each of their institutions will receive $5,000.

Details biographies on the current recipients can be found here.

For guidelines on nominating an educator for a 2018 Covenant Award, and to read biographies of past recipients, visit

The Covenant Foundation is a program of the Crown Family Philanthropies.