The Covenant Foundation Announces Recipients of 2019 Covenant Award

The Covenant Foundation has announced the names of three Jewish educators who are the 2019 recipients of the Covenant Award, which is among the highest honors in the field of Jewish education.

Dr. Gregory Beiles, Head of School, The Toronto Heschel School and Director, The Lola Stein Institute, Toronto, Canada;

Sally GraziShatzkes, Registered Drama Therapist, Licensed Creative Arts Therapist, and Theater Director, Yeshivah of Flatbush, Brooklyn, New York

Risa Strauss, Education Director, Beth Shalom Synagogue and Founding Director, Camp Gesher, The Katie and Irwin Kahn Jewish Community Center, Columbia, South Carolina.

Each of this year’s Award recipients is deeply embedded in the work of their respective institutions, each wears multiple hats, and each learns and teaches alongside colleagues and faculty members for the betterment of their individual school communities,” said Cheryl Finkel, Chair of the Board of Directors of The Covenant Foundation and a 1999 Covenant Award recipient.

Along with the recognition that accompanies this award, recipients will each receive $36,000 and each of their institutions will receive $5,000.

For guidelines on nominating an educator for a 2020 Covenant Award, and to read biographies of past recipients, visit:

The Covenant Foundation is a program of the Crown Family Philanthropies.