Yehezkel Dror and Joseph Cedar Receive 2011 NADAV Jewish Peoplehood Award

The 2011 NADAV Jewish Peoplehood Award has been presented to Professor Yehezkel Dror and film director Joseph Cedar. Professor Dror and Cedar received the award from businessman and philanthropist Leonid Nevzlin, Founder of the NADAV Foundation, and Irina Nevzlin Kogan, President of the Foundation.

The NADAV Jewish Peoplehood Award, in its third consecutive year, was established to promote and nurture global Jewish unity and belonging among Jews, a feeling that has been weakened in recent years. The award is given to individuals and organizations in the Jewish world as an appreciation for their contribution in strengthening global Jewish identity, and deepening the connection between Jews around the world.

Last year the recipients of the NADAV award were Angelica Berrie, President of the Russell Berrie Foundation and Chairman of the Hartman Institute in North America, for her contribution in raising new and pluralistic voices within the Jewish tradition and promoting dialogue between Jews of different backgrounds; and for the video, “We Con The World,” by the Latma Group, following the 2010 flotilla incident. The video garnered over 2 million views on YouTube.

A year prior, in 2009, Ambassador Stuart Eizenstat, former US Under Secretary of State, received the award for his exceptional and unique contribution to the Jewish people.

Yehezkel Dror, one of the world’s leading analysts in policy planning and management, is a Professor Emeritus of Political Science at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem and is also an ‘Israel Prize’ recipient for management. Professor Dror has served as a senior staff member of the RAND Corporation in the United States and also as a Senior Advisor in the Offices of Israel’s Prime Ministers and Ministers of Defense.

Joseph Cedar is an Israeli film director and screenwriter. He has won a Silver Bear and an Ophir Award for Best Director, and an Ophir Award for writing a Best Screenplay. He also won the Best Screenplay Award at the 2011 Cannes Film Festival for his film Footnote. His other films include Time of Favor (2000), Campfire (2004) and Beaufort (2007). Footnote (2011), his most recent film, is expected to be a nominee for best foreign film at the 2012 Oscars.